
STEPS FOR CIVIL COMMITMENT

1

File an affidavit for civil commitment
in the chancery clerk's office where
the person resides or is currently
located.

Pay a fil ing fee up to
$150, including all
fees and assessments,
to commence the
proceeding.*

Under Mississippi state law, no
attorney is required for this process.

2

A writ is issued for the sheriff to take into custody the person alleged to be in need of mental
health treatment and take the person for a Pre-Evaluation Screening and treatment by staff at
a local Community Mental Health Center.

3

If  the appointed examiners find no need for treatment, the case will be dismissed without a need for
a hearing. 

If  further examination is recommended, two doctors, or one doctor and one other healthcare
professional, appointed by the court will  examine the person within 48 hours. 

4

The judge will decide based on the examiners certificates' and other evidence
presented whether treatment in a state behavioral health program or outpatient
program is necessary. 

A hearing must
be within 7-10
days. 
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Behavioral Health Program Admission Process

6

Transportation to the DMH Behavioral Health Program or Crisis Stabilization Unit will  be provided
by local law enforcement. Admission involves medical record review, general information
questions, and an inventory of the person's possessions. 

5

DMH Behavioral Health Program: If the judge orders civil
commitment, the chancery clerk will send a copy of the order to
the state hospital's admission office. Admissions are scheduled
when a bed is available. 

A person can also be referred
to a Crisis Stabilization Unit
bed in his or her area. 



7
When the person is admitted, he or she will be oriented to the environment by staff who review
program schedules, activities, rights, and responsibilities. 

8
A plan for discharge is created upon admission to help the person return to his or her community,
and the facilitation to services in his or her community is started. 

9 A treatment plan is developed that includes goals, activities, and other prescribed treatments. 
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The person will be discharged when he or she no longer meets commitment criteria and can return
to live in the community with adequate support services. 

11
Upon discharge, most people continue treatment at a local Community Mental Health Center or
local programs with the goal of l iving independently in their communities. 

Before fil ing an affidavit for commitment to a DMH Behavioral Health Program with the chancery
clerk's office, we strongly encourage you to contact your local Community Mental Health Center to
learn about services, supports, and alternatives to the commitment process such as Mobile Crisis
Response Teams, Crisis Stabilization Beds, and more. 

Mississippi Department of Mental Health

HOW TO GET HELP

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO LOCATE YOUR LOCAL COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH CENTER: 

601.359.1288 dmh.ms.gov 24-Hour Helpline 1-877-210-8513
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The court will  maintain jurisdiction over persons committed to both inpatient and outpatient
programs for one year after their completion of the treatment program.

A person with a serious mental health condition, through an outpatient commitment order, can be court-
mandated to follow a specific treatment plan, usually requiring medication and sometimes directing where
the person can live and what his or her daily activities must include. 

*The chancery clerk may charge a total fi l ing fee for all services equal to the amount set out in Section 25-
7-9(o), and the appropriate state and county assessments as required by law which include, but are not
limited to, assessments for the Judicial Operation Fund (Section 25-7-9 (3)(b) ); the Electronic Court
System Fund (Section 25-7-9 (3)(a) ); the Civil Legal Assistance Fund (Section 25-7-9 (1)(k) ); the Court
Education and Training Fund (Section 37-26-3); State Court Constituent's Fund (Section 37-26-9 (4) ); and
a reasonable court reporter's fee. Costs incidental to court proceedings as set forth in Section 41-21-79
may not be included as assessments.
 
The chancery clerk's office can provide specific eligibility requirements and instructions to file a Pauper's
Oath if you are unable to pay the fil ing fee. 


