Board of Mental Health

The governing board of the Mississippi Department of Mental Health is composed of nine members appointed by the Governor of Mississippi and confirmed by the State Senate. Members’ terms are staggered to ensure continuity of quality care and professional oversight of services. By statute, the nine-member board is composed of a physician, a psychiatrist, a clinical psychologist, a social worker with experience in the field of mental health, and one citizen representative from each of Mississippi’s five congressional districts (as existed in 1974).

Meetings of the Board of Mental Health are open to the public. Meetings are held the third Thursday of the month at 9 a.m. For more information, contact Grenaye Sullivan at 601-359-6260. Public meeting notices can be found online at by searching for Department of Mental Health in both the State Agency and Public Body search fields. Click here for minutes from Board of Mental Health meetings.

2021-2022 Board of Mental Health

Dr. Jim Herzog, Chair

Dr. James Herzog of Oxford, Mississippi, is a clinical psychologist in private practice. Dr. Herzog received a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Creighton University and a master’s and Doctorate in Clinical Psychology from the University of Mississippi. Currently, his practice involves consultation with the Department of Rehabilitation Services in the Office of Disability Determination Services. Dr. Herzog has over 40 years of providing services in community mental health through several community mental health centers, Catholic Charities, and in the VA Medical Center in Jackson, Mississippi, as well as providing individual therapy and assessment with adults, adolescents and children. Dr. Herzog was appointed to serve as the Clinical Psychologist representative on the board.

Dr. Sampat Shivangi, Vice Chair

Sampat Shivangi, M.D., of Ridgeland, Mississippi, is the president and CEO of US Info Systems of Mississippi. In 2019, he accepted an invitation from the United States Department of Health and Human Services to serve on the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA) Center for Mental Health Services National Advisory Council. From 2005 to 2008, Dr. Shivangi served as Advisor to the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services. He is the past president-elect of the American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin. He is the founding president of the American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin in Mississippi and is the past president and chair of the India Association of Mississippi. He previously served on the Mississippi State Board of Health and has also served as a house delegate to the American Medical Association in Chicago, Illinois.  Dr. Shivangi was appointed to represent the Medical Physician category on the Board of Mental Health.

Dr. Manda Griffin

Dr. Manda Griffin of Houlka, Mississippi, is a registered respiratory therapist, a licensed social worker, and a board certified family nurse practitioner. She received her bachelor’s degree from Mississippi University for Women and her master’s degree from Alcorn State University. She also has a Doctor of Nursing Practice from Maryville University. She has worked with several hospitals in north Mississippi, as well as with GSV Care Medical Clinic in Houlka, a family medical clinic that provides health care to pediatric, adult, and older patients. She also serves on the board’s Patient Care Subcommittee. Dr. Griffin was appointed to serve as the social work representative on the board.

Dr. Alyssa Killebrew

Dr. Alyssa Killebrew of Madison, Mississippi, is a clinical psychologist and licensed professional counselor (supervisor) in private practice and has an intensive outpatient program for adolescents. She has worked at Life Help Region 6 Community Mental Health Center and is the Clinical Director of Alcohol and Drug Services for the Mississippi Department of Corrections.  Dr. Killebrew was appointed to serve as the Third Congressional District representative.

Courtney Phillips

Courtney Phillips of Indianola, Mississippi, is the CEO of South Sunflower County Hospital who has 20 years of experience in healthcare, government, and not-for-profit organizations. He currently serves as a member of the Mississippi Hospital Association, Rural Hospital Solutions, and Delta Council, is President of the Rural Hospital Alliance, Treasurer of the Delta Trauma Board, and Secretary / Treasurer for the Mississippi Healthcare Executives, an Independent Chapter of the American College Healthcare Executives. Mr. Phillips holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from Delta State University. He was appointed to represent the Second Congressional District on the Board of Mental Health.

Stewart Rutledge

Stewart Rutledge of Oxford, Mississippi, is a real estate developer who has previously served as Chairman of the Mississippi Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee, appointed by Governor Barbour, as well as the Mississippi Supreme Court’s Commission on Juveniles and the Federal Advisory Committee on Juvenile Justice in Washington, D.C., all aimed at ensuring the proper treatment of juveniles coming into contact with the justice system.  Mr. Rutledge is also a licensed attorney and previously served as Corporate Counsel to Sta-Home Healthcare, Mississippi’s largest Home Health provider.  Mr. Rutledge was appointed by Governor Bryant to represent the First Congressional District for a seven-year term beginning July 1, 2017.  Mr. Rutledge is a family member of a mental health consumer.