Robert Landrum Named Chair of Board of Mental Health

Robert Landrum of Ellisville has been named Chair of the Board of Mental Health for the year beginning July 1, 2017.

Mr. Landrum has served for the previous year as Vice Chair of the Board, and has been a board member since 1993. He became involved in mental health in the early 1980s, after his son, Josh, was born with a rare disability and received services at Ellisville State School. Mr. Landrum and his wife became active in Ellisville State Schoola��s Parents and Friends Organization and have stayed involved in the field, even after the loss of their son in 2000.

Mr. Landrum represents the Fifth Congressional District and currently serves on the Board of Mental Healtha��s Property Subcommittee. In 2005, he received the James a�?Jimmya�? Stubbs Award, which recognizes a commitment of volunteer service to Mississippians with intellectual or developmental disabilities, mental illness, or substance use disorders.

a�?Mr. Landruma��s experiences as a family member of someone in need of services has given him valuable perspective,a�? said Diana Mikula, Executive Director of the Department of Mental Health. a�?He is committed to making sure people get the services they need and that they have choices in how to get those services. We look forward to his term as Chair of the Board of Mental Health.a�?

The Board of Mental Health is composed of nine members appointed by the Governor of Mississippi and confirmed by the State Senate. Membersa�� terms are staggered to ensure continuity of quality care and professional oversight of services. By statute, the nine-member board is composed of a physician, a psychiatrist, a clinical psychologist, a social worker with experience in the field of mental health, and one citizen representative from each of Mississippia��s five congressional districts (as existed in 1974).